Jenny Chu is an Australian Product Manager and designer. She is the Product Lead at ,, and was previously a Product Manager at ,.

  • Creativity, Inc.

    ???,From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business???sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. , is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation???into the meetings, postmortems, and ???Braintrust??? sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture???but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, ???an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.???,For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the , trilogy, ,and,which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really ,. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired???and so profitable.,As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his founding Pixar with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter in 1986. Nine years later, , was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie???s success???and in the thirteen movies that followed???was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention.

  • Designing Your Life

    The 1 New York Times Bestseller.,Whether we???re 20, 40, 60 or older, many of us are still looking for an answer to that perennial question, ???What do you want to be when you grow up???? In ,, Silicon Valley design innovators Bill Burnett and Dave Evans use their expertise to help you work out what you want ??? and how to get it.,Their phenomenally successful Life Design course has been tried and tested by thousands of people, from students to mid-career professionals to retirees contemplating a whole new future. Now in book form for the first time, their simple method will teach you how to use basic design tools to create a life that will work for you.,Using real-life stories and proven techniques like reframing, prototyping and mind-mapping, you will learn how to build your way forwards, step-by-positive-step, to a life that???s better by a design of your own making.,Because a well-designed life means a life well-lived.

  • Ego Is the Enemy

    The instant Wall Street Journal, USA Today, and international bestseller,???While the history books are filled with tales of obsessive visionary geniuses who remade the world in their image with sheer, almost irrational force, I???ve found that history is also made by individuals who fought their egos at every turn, who eschewed the spotlight, and who put their higher goals above their desire for recognition.??? ???from the prologue,Many of us insist the main impediment to a full, successful life is the outside world. In fact, the most common enemy lies within: our ego. Early in our careers, it impedes learning and the cultivation of talent. With success, it can blind us to our faults and sow future problems. In failure, it magnifies each blow and makes recovery more difficult. At every stage, ego holds us back.,Ego Is the Enemy draws on a vast array of stories and examples, from literature to philosophy to his??tory. We meet fascinating figures such as George Marshall, Jackie Robinson, Katharine Graham, Bill Belichick, and Eleanor Roosevelt, who all reached the highest levels of power and success by con??quering their own egos. Their strategies and tactics can be ours as well.,In an era that glorifies social media, reality TV, and other forms of shameless self-promotion, the battle against ego must be fought on many fronts. Armed with the lessons in this book, as Holiday writes, ???you will be less invested in the story you tell about your own specialness, and as a result, you will be liberated to accomplish the world-changing work you???ve set out to achieve.???

  • Shape Up

    Shape Up is for product development teams who struggle to ship. Full of eye-opening insights, Shape Up will help you break free of “best practices” that aren’t working, think deeper about the right problems, and start shipping meaningful projects.

  • The Courage to Be Disliked

    Reading this book could change your life.,The Courage to Be Disliked, already an enormous bestseller in Asia with more than 3.5 million copies sold, demonstrates how to unlock the power within yourself to be the person you truly want to be.,Is happiness something you choose for yourself? The Courage to Be Disliked presents a simple and straightforward answer. Using the theories of Alfred Adler, one of the three giants of nineteenth-century psychology alongside Freud and Jung, this book follows an illuminating dialogue between a philosopher and a young man. Over the course of five conversations, the philosopher helps his student to understand how each of us is able to determine the direction of our own life, free from the shackles of past traumas and the expectations of others.,Rich in wisdom, The Courage to Be Disliked will guide you through the concepts of self-forgiveness, self-care, and mind decluttering. It is a deeply liberating way of thinking, allowing you to develop the courage to change and ignore the limitations that you might be placing on yourself. This plainspoken and profoundly moving book unlocks the power within you to find lasting happiness and be the person you truly want to be. Millions have already benefited from its teachings, now you can too.

  • The Design of Everyday Things

    The ultimate guide to human-centered design.,Even the smartest among us can feel inept as we fail to figure out which light switch or oven burner to turn on, or whether to push, pull, or slide a door.,The fault, argues this ingenious — even liberating — book, lies not in ourselves, but in product design that ignores the needs of users and the principles of cognitive psychology. The problems range from ambiguous and hidden controls to arbitrary relationships between controls and functions, coupled with a lack of feedback or other assistance and unreasonable demands on memorization.,The Design of Everyday Things shows that good, usable design is possible. The rules are simple: make things visible, exploit natural relationships that couple function and control, and make intelligent use of constraints. The goal: guide the user effortlessly to the right action on the right control at the right time.,The Design of Everyday Things is a powerful primer on how — and why — some products satisfy customers while others only frustrate them.

  • The Great Mental Models

    The old saying goes, “To the man with a hammer, everything looks like a nail.” But anyone who has done any kind of project knows a hammer often isn’t enough.,The more tools you have at your disposal, the more likely you’ll use the right tool for the job ??? and get it done right.,The same is true when it comes to your thinking. The quality of your outcomes depends on the mental models in your head. And most people are going through life with little more than a hammer.,Until now.,The Great Mental Models: General Thinking Concepts is the first book in The Great Mental Models series designed to upgrade your thinking with the best, most useful and powerful tools so you always have the right one on hand.,This volume details nine of the most versatile, all-purpose mental models you can use right away to improve your decision making, productivity, and how clearly you see the world. You will discover what forces govern the universe and how to focus your efforts so you can harness them to your advantage, rather than fight with them or worse yet??? ignore them.,Upgrade your mental toolbox and get the first volume today!,Here’s what people have to say about the book.

  • The Hard Thing About Hard Things

    Ben Horowitz, cofounder of Andreessen Horowitz and one of Silicon Valley’s most respected and experienced entrepreneurs, offers essential advice on building and running a startup???practical wisdom for managing the toughest problems business school doesn???t cover, based on his popular ben???s blog. While many people talk about how great it is to start a business, very few are honest about how difficult it is to run one. Ben Horowitz analyzes the problems that confront leaders every day, sharing the insights he???s gained developing, managing, selling, buying, investing in, and supervising technology companies.,A lifelong rap fanatic, he amplifies business lessons with lyrics from his favorite songs, telling it straight about everything from firing friends to poaching competitors, cultivating and sustaining a CEO mentality to knowing the right time to cash in. Filled with his trademark humor and straight talk, The Hard Thing About Hard Things is invaluable for veteran entrepreneurs as well as those aspiring to their own new ventures, drawing from Horowitz’s personal and often humbling experiences.